Kilimanjaro Facts

Kilimanjaro Facts

Kilimanjaro Facts

Kilimanjaro is the most elevated and unsupported mountain on the planet – which means it's anything but a mountain range. Kilimanjaro, the highest mountain in Africa and fourth highest of the Seven Summits, is considered the tallest freestanding mountain in the world, rising 15,100 feet (4,600 meters) above sea level. Kilimanjaro is also the most prominent mountain in Africa.

The meaning and origin of the name Kilimanjaro are unknown. The name is thought to be a combination of the Swahili word Kilima, meaning “mountain,” and the KiChagga word Njaro, loosely translated as “whiteness,” giving the name White Mountain. The name Kibo in KiChagga means “spotted” and refers to rocks seen on snowfields. The name Uhuru translates as “freedom,” a name given to commemorate Tanzanian independence from Great Britain in 1961.

All things considered, as a beginning to your examination, here are certain realities about climbing Kilimanjaro!

  • Mount Kilimanjaro is the highest free-standing mountain in the world at a spectacular height of 5,895 meters above sea level.
  • Kilimanjaro has three volcanic cones, Mawenzi, Shira, and Kibo. Mawenzi and Shira are terminated however Kibo, the most elevated peak is sluggish and could emit once more.
  • Approximately 30,000 people attempt climbing Kilimanjaro each year, of which only two-thirds are usually successful. This is mostly due to altitude-related problems, forcing some climbers to turn back.
  • This comes as a shock as Kilimanjaro isn't viewed as an especially difficult peak when contrasted with different mountains.
  • After all, it's anything but a specialized summit and doesn't need exceptional capacities to scale it.
  • Mostly because of elevation gain, individuals tragically select some unacceptable routes.
  • Numerous fail to decide to jump on the Marangu Route, which is the lively way (five days full circle) to the mountain.
  • Be that as it may, the most ideal approach to climb is to utilize a more extended course to help in acclimatization.
  • There are seven official routes on Mount Kilimanjaro, six of which are used for ascent (Machame, Umbwe, Marangu, Shira, Lemosho, Rongai), and one of which is used for descent only (Mweka).

Kilimanjaro Travel Guide

Explore Our Related Packages

Tailor-made is our business.

Our Tanzania itineraries are like the spots on a leopard's coat - each one is different. We'll tailor-make your trip to suit your individual needs rather than simply asking you to choose.

  • TrustPilot

Highly Recommended To Tanzania

Traveller Reviews

4.9 / 5

Independent Service Rating
based on 97 verified reviews.